Covid-19 and International Students: The Journey and Life Back Home Amidst a Global Pandemic

This article is a submission by Douglas Goh. This interview was conducted on 15 June 2020  and all information in this interview is updated as of 20 July 2020.

The COVID-19 pandemic has affected the lives of many students all across the globe. Globally, most governments have temporarily closed all educational institutions in an attempt to contain the spread of the virus. For international students studying abroad, the situation can be challenging and frightening as they may find themselves lonely and helpless in a foreign country.

Today, we will hear from two good friends of mine who are studying the Bar Professional Training Course (BPTC) and Master of Law Programme (LLM) in the United Kingdom (UK). They will share the challenges they faced as an international student in the UK when the Covid-19 Crisis started to escalate.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Due to a number of factors, both of them were forced to end their studies abroad abruptly and fly back to Malaysia. They will also share insights on the process of studying from home and the difficulties in doing so.

Without further ado, let us begin with the interview.
____________________________________________________________________________________________

Q: What prompted the both of you to leave the UK and come back to Malaysia?

London-header.jpg
Image by Tortuga blog

Elaine:

Hmm, there were a number of factors that drove me to leave the UK:

Firstly, there was an increase in cost for hand sanitizers in the UK. At the peak of the pandemic, demand for hand sanitizers was surging in the UK as news of the Covid-19 virus started to spread quickly. This prompted retailers to ration their supplies and online vendors to increase the price of hand sanitizers.

With that, I could not afford to buy hand sanitizers due to the price hike and I felt scared because my access to hand sanitizers has been cut off. Most importantly, it was really hard to get face masks in the UK so that prompted me to leave.

Secondly, my parents played a major influence in my decision because they were concerned about my wellbeing. I also thought that it was best for me to go back and ease their worries – all with the luxury of being under their care.

Lastly, the whole Covid-19 situation started to worsen in early March. The British Government did not impose clear guidelines to prevent the spread of the virus and I could barely focus on my studies due to the fear surrounding the vague guidelines and enforcement of such guidelines.

With that, I made the tough decision to fly back to Malaysia.

106438307-1584001323580gettyimages-1206254218
As of the 4th of March 2020, UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson has launched a four-strand plan to help combat the Covid-19 virus. The four phases were to contain the virus, delay its spread, research its origins and cure as well as mitigating the impact of the virus if it became more widespread. (Image by Malaysia Kini)

Swen:

Yeah, I agree with what Elaine has said. Personally, I would say the main reason that I decided to go back to Malaysia was because of my parents. They were of the opinion that Malaysia has a more reliable healthcare system and that Malaysians had a more serious mindset to combat the virus, as compared to the locals in the UK.

Similar to Elaine, I was forced to leave the UK in the middle of my LLM.

Q: How long was the decision-making process?  

Elaine:

It took me 2 weeks to arrive at my decision. There were a number of things in my mind during that critical period. For one, my University had yet to announce any details regarding the changes to the BPTC programme at that point in time. Hence, I was uncertain as to whether I should fly back home, especially since I would be exposing myself to the virus on the flight back home.

Swen:

Unlike Elaine, it only took me around 2 days to decide.

tenor.gif
2-what? (Image by Tenor)

That was because my University had already informed us that attendance was no longer necessary and that every LLM student would attend their lecture online. Hence, I thought that flying back would not be such a huge issue since I can continue my studies online.

Q: Well, it must be hard for you all to make such a decision, right? How did you feel upon realising that you actually had to leave the UK? 

Elaine:

In some situations, we don’t really have much of a choice. I think the best way forward is to move on. People tend to say that we should cherish our moments studying abroad because it is the only moment to experience true freedom and independence. Although it was sad to leave the UK early, I was excited to reunite with my parents as I have been homesick for a while.

6a01896c58e0585369d0d4fd0e41fb6a.gif
(Image by Pinterest)

Swen:

Actually, I felt pretty disappointed. Due to the pandemic, I had to discontinue some pro-bono commitments I had in some organisations. Most regrettably, I had to withdraw some job offers because of the uncertainty caused by the pandemic.

tenor (1)
Devastating? I know but life happens. (Image by Tenor)

However, there was one quote that popped in the back of my head: ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!’. As such, I viewed this pandemic as a door to other new opportunities.

Q: Let’s talk about some challenges that you guys faced when studying at home? 

Elaine:

That is an interesting question – let us start with the different time zones. Since I am now back in Malaysia, most of my classes are scheduled from 6pm and they can run up till midnight or 1 o’clock in the morning. Initially, I would say that this was one of the biggest challenges I faced while studying at home.

download (1).jpg

The next challenge would be multi-tasking and time management.

200
Image by Giphy.

As my University announced that they wished to complete the entire syllabus and internal exams as soon as they could, I was required to attend classes and prepare for the internal exams at the same time. It was so tiring and I had to pull some all-nighters so that I could still perform in spite of the situation.

Since I was also studying from home, I tend to get distracted by my family and other commitments. Hence, it did take me some time to adapt to studying from home.

Swen:

Like Elaine, I also had issues with being distracted at home. As a person who prefers her own personal space, I had to adapt to studying from home. Of course, you have the occasional odd requests from parents to run some errands, where makes it hard for me to focus on my work.

That is the reality of studying from home and you can’t really get out of it. Even though some classes were pre-recorded because of the pandemic, I still found it very challenging because I could not raise questions and hear from the lecturers directly.

search.gif
The frustration with pre-recorded lectures. (Image by University Primetime)

Another challenge was with regards to my accommodation in the UK. I rented a private room outside campus while I was doing my LLM. Since I was forced to leave early, I negotiated with my landlord as to whether they were any discounts I was eligible to or was I allowed to terminate the tenancy agreement due to unforeseen circumstances.

After a long discussion, my land promised to give me a 40% reduction for the rental. That baffled me a little considering that I was still paying rent even though I am no longer staying in my private room.

giphy
Image by Giphy.

Q: What’s the status of Bar Exams now and evaluation methods used in the LLM programmes? 

Elaine:

The Bar Standards Board (BSB) has announced that the assessment will be postponed to August. When I left, they mentioned that they will review this evaluation as the pandemic develops.

To my understanding, the BSB will partner with Pearson Vue across the globe to conduct the centralised exams online. Assuming that I am correct, we are required to capture and send photos of our exam room workspace to show that we have complied with the room set-up requirements.

One thing that surprises me is that the Pearson software uses artificial intelligence to validate your identity. A ‘proctor’ will also actively observe us in real-time during the session to look out for any abnormalities or uncommon behavior.

Update: The BSB has issued guidelines to candidates on how the online examination will be conducted.

Swen:

Hearing from Elaine, it must be tough for the BPTC students to adapt to the new method. All the best to you!

 On my end, there were not many differences in the assessment method for the LLM programme I am doing as the modules for the remaining semester are assessed in the format of coursework. Personally, I have deferred my dissertation to August 2020 due to the challenges I faced.

By doing so, I have more time to prepare and work on my dissertation. However, I am still able to complete my LLM in time despite deferring the submission of my dissertation.

Q: What have you learned from this “lockdown” experience? 

Elaine:

I have learned that being flexible is extremely important. If you are emotionally stuck at this point and are not willing to open up to alternatives, you are less likely to solve the problem.

Swen:

I agree with what Elaine has said – having a flexible mindset allows you to change your thinking and overcome obstacles or challenges. On this note, I would like to point out the importance of appreciating and treasuring the relationship you have with the people in your life. Be it family members or friends, don’t take them for granted.

Q: Any last words to our readers? 

Elaine:

To those who are taking the exams this August, be calm and give everything you got. You are not alone in this and we are all in this together.

Swen:

Alright, I will end with the phrase: ‘It is okay not to feel okay’. If you do not feel like doing something today, that is fine. Take care of your physical and mental health. Treat this crisis as an opportunity to develop yourself as a better individual.
____________________________________________________________________________________________

Author’s Note 

As we close this interview, I would like to thank Elaine and Swen Yee for taking the time to share their story and insights on some of the struggles they faced during the pandemic.

Personally, I believe their stories resonate powerfully with many aspiring lawyers, including myself. I was worried that I could not secure a chambering position due to the global hiring freezes by law firms. After receiving numerous rejection emails from law firms, I started to doubt myself and felt that I was incapable of entering into the firms I have chosen.

116358898_1254612191540639_733968137226949035_n.jpg

At some point, I am certain that some of us had our own ‘awakening’ moments during the silence and stillness of the pandemic. However, like all things in life, this too will pass. Do not despair as there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

GlumDisfiguredEyelashpitviper-max-1mb
‘Discover the power within you’ (Image by Gfycat)

My advice would be to keep moving forward and try not to be too hard yourself. If you ever need someone to talk to during this difficult time, please feel free to contact me on LinkedIn and I will try my best to help you.

Leave a comment