CONFESSIONS OF A YOUNG LITIGATOR

How’s life Weera?”

It’s a pretty common question I got since last year. A lot has changed since then, but I do have that feeling that some people around me have felt distant over the past year (though my colleagues and fellow court opponents would heavily beg to differ), and hence the urge for me to write this post.

Not everyone understands the life of a Litigator (or for the laymen, it simply means Litigation Lawyer – those who “argue” in Court, as those you see in television). By the time you read this, I’m starting my measly 4 years in litigation practice. After plenty of Court Trials that I handled myself, including full Hearings at the Magistrates to the High Court and even the Court of Appeal (& the Federal Court next year, hopefully?). I still don’t have the audacity to say that I’ve seen it all. Self-proclaimed Mr. Nationwide one may call me, as I travel from courts all over West Malaysia, whenever duty calls.

There’s always something new to learn, different people to take lessons from, and new problems to deal with. No one day is the same, no one case mirrors each other. For myself, I have the privilege of sharing my experiences with my fellow young lawyers, pupils and law students (as a part-time CLP lecturer).

Most of us Litigators all share the same things in common (or at least the ones actually submits in Court and do most of the groundwork & client management), that we care for our firm and clients as much as we care for ourselves. At times we put them first, before ourselves. We then try to squeeze whatever that’s left either for ourselves, loved ones and/or anyone that we can help with.

It doesn’t really matter whether we do it because we are afraid of being negligent or we just want to win every case we handle. At one point we may live in a state of perpetual anxiety, though over time we learn how to get accustomed to it, live with it and thrive along the process.

We spend more time with our colleagues, court officers and clients, than our own loved ones. Our clients’ problems are also our problems. It’s a lifestyle, something that we have come to realization of and accepted over the years.

It comes with a price however. People come and go, our pockets may be filled, but sometimes the stress can get the better of us. Juggling with lawyering, lecturing, managing relationships, BrainyLaw and many of pupils’ problem are tough. I can’t speak for all litigators, but myself personally would like to make it clear that:

Sometimes if I don’t answer your calls during the morning, its probably because I’m submitting in a Hearing or conducting Trials.

Sometimes if you see myself going back straight home after Friday nights, it’s most likely because I’m exhausted from lawyering the whole week.

Sometimes if I don’t reply to your messages as quickly as you expected me to, it’s probably there are other pressing matters which needs to be solved first.

Sometimes if you don’t see much of myself anymore other than Court or office area, it’s probably because I’m occupied with my duties

Over the past 4 years, one thing may describe me accurately:

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate, a poet, a pawn and a king. I’ve been up and down and over and out.

And that’s life, I guess.

Despite all the above, I’m just glad that most of the people I know are still with me, even with the lesser physical interaction. This post, is dedicated to all such people and my loved ones. Cheers for another fruitful year and journey that lies ahead.

To those who took some time reading this, thank you and stay safe till we meet again.

My door may always seem closed, but it’s never locked.

– Weera, 15.11.2021

Been recycling the same pic, simply because I don’t have much opportunity to take much photos lol.

One thought on “CONFESSIONS OF A YOUNG LITIGATOR

Leave a comment